WRWC: Red Roses side to play Spain

England have named their match-day squad ahead of their opening World Cup game against Spain tomorrow.

Sarah Hunter leads a strong side, with full-back Danielle Waterman and centre Rachael Burford set to play in their fourth World Cup, while nine players in the starting line-up are making their debuts in the tournament.

Young centre Megan Jones partners Burford in the midfield, with Emily Scarratt among the replacements, while on the wings Kay Wilson and Lydia Thompson will be looking to add to their already impressive try-scoring records. Both have been in great form over the past six months and will hope to cross the whitewash numerous times over the course of this tournament.

Leanne Riley wins only her twelfth cap at scrum-half, partnering former World-Cup-winning-captain Katy McLean in the half-backs.

In the forwards, Abbie Scott and Zoe Aldcroft form a new lock partnership, while Heather Kerr makes her first start of the year at hooker. A strong back row of Harriet Millar-Mills, Izzy Noel-Smith and Sarah Hunter will ensure that the Red Roses get plenty of forward momentum, and a bench featuring the likes of Amy Cokayne and Alex Matthews should add extra pace and power up front in the closing stages.

The game against Spain is available to watch live on World Rugby’s Facebook page (global), ITV4 and the ITV hub (UK only) (KO 2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PST; 11pm AEST).

Red Roses team to play Spain (Wednesday 9th August @ 2pm BST, Dublin)

15. Danielle Waterman (Bristol, 70 caps)
14. Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries, 34 caps)
13. Megan Jones (Bristol, 4 caps)
12. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 67 caps)
11. Kay Wilson (Richmond, 45 caps)
10. Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 86 caps)
9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 11 caps)

1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 26 caps)
2. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 8 caps)
3. Sarah Bern (Bristol, 11 caps)
4. Abbie Scott (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 17 caps)
5. Zoe Aldcroft (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 4 caps)
6. Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield, 46 caps)
7. Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol, 32 caps)
8. Sarah Hunter (C) (Bristol, 93 caps).

Replacements: 

16. Amy Cokayne (Lichfield, 28 caps)
17. Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries, 124 caps)
18. Justine Lucas (Lichfield, 22 caps)
19. Poppy Cleall (Bristol, 12 caps)
20. Alex Matthews (Richmond, 32 caps)
21. La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 66 caps)
22. Amber Reed (Bristol, 39 caps)
23. Emily Scarratt (Lichfield, 69 caps) (VC).

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s